Books and Reading

Books and Reading

Premium Databases:

Selected by the Library as being high-quality research sources. May require a current library card to access.

Novelist 
NoveList, the complete readers' advisory solution, empowers librarians, engages readers and connects communities.

Novelist K-8 
A fiction database designed with a bright, appealing layout, designed especially for elementary and middle schools. The “Working with Kids” section of the Browse panel on the homepage provides a single location to access all of the curricular materials such as our Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Picture Book Extenders and more.

Other Sources:

Archives and Manuscript Collections
University of Columbia Subject Guides for Archives and Manuscript collections.

Bartleby’s Great Books Online
Full-texts of fiction and non-fiction books as well as reference texts.

Dartmouth Dante Project
A searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.

The Digital Scriptorium
Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.

Publisher’s Catalogs
Information on publishers in a variety of genres, plus resources related to writing and publishing.

Pulitzer Prizes
Information on the Pulitzer Prize as well as past winners.

Romantic Circles
Contains access to information on romantic period literature and culture.

WorldCat
Worldwide library catalog containing information about books available for lending in all participating libraries.