Premium Databases:
Selected by the Library as being high-quality research sources. May require a current library card to access.
ABDO Publishing - American Presidents
Research and read about the US Presidents with this new database from Abdo Digital. Based on our companion book series, The United States Presidents, our new database features easy keyword searching, hundreds of chapters and articles, and unique online games.
Other Sources:
American Memory (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
Contains information on the historical changes to boundaries of every county in the United States. Maintained by the Scholl Center at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War.
Congressional Documents and Debates
Historical journals and other documents from the US Congress from 1774-1875.
Foreign Relations of the United States (1945-present)
Declassified documents related to foreign policy actions of the United States since 1945.
Foreign Relations of the United States (pre-1945)
Declassified documents related to foreign policy actions of the United States before 1945.
National Archives
Record keepers of the US government. The archives contain only the most vital documents created by the government.